Frequently Asked Questions


What is the definition of a personal injury?

A personal injury is any physical or emotional injury to a person as a result of another party’s negligence or harmful act.

What is negligence?

Negligence is conduct that falls below the standards of care established by law for the protection of others against unreasonable risk of harm.

Should I call the police if I have been involved in an auto accident?

Yes, you should always call the police after any auto accident that involves an injury or even relatively minor damage. A police report can be essential to your auto accident claim.

Should I notify my insurance company of the accident?

Yes, as you have a duty to cooperate with your own insurance company. Most insurance companies require their policyholders to promptly report every auto accident so that they can gather basic information. You should consult a personal injury attorney before providing any additional information to the insurance company.

What can I do to improve my chances of obtaining maximum compensation?

To prove your damages to the fullest extent, there are things you should do and things you should avoid.

To assist with your case:

1. It is important to take photos of the accident scene and collect as much information as possible.

2. Seek immediate medical attention.

3. Contact a personal injury lawyer and follow his or her legal advice.

To avoid jeopardizing your case:

1. Do not speak to the insurance companies for the other party.

2. Do not ignore your doctor’s advice.

3. Do not talk about your accident on social media.

What are PIP benefits and the Florida no-fault law?

Under Florida’s no-fault laws, even if another driver caused the accident, your insurance company pays your medical bills under the PIP (personal injury protection) portion of your policy. Most PIP policies pay 80% of your bills up to a maximum of $10,000. You are entitled to recover the unpaid medical bills from the at-fault driver’s policy. However, in order for PIP to be triggered, one must seek medical treatment within 14 days of the accident.

If I do bring a case, what will I need to do next?

At Marisa Zarzeski, P.A., our lawyers handle everything, so you can focus on recovering from your injuries. We take care of every detail so you can focus on your recovery.

How much is my personal injury case worth?

The simple answer to this question is: it depends. There are many factors that are involved in determining the value of a case. These include: the severity of your injuries; the length of time of your total and/or partial disability; the amount of your medical bills and whether or not there is permanency of injuries. Additionally, if you are partially liable for the accident/injury, your case will be worth substantially less as this is determined on the percentage of your liability. As all cases are unique, we believe that the answer to this question should only be based on a thorough case evaluation in which we analyze the facts of your case and the compensation you are eligible to obtain.

How long do I have to make a claim for personal injuries?

Every state has certain time limits, called a “statute of limitations” that govern the period during which you must file a personal injury lawsuit. Florida requires that you file a claim within 4 years of the injury.

How long do auto accident personal injury lawsuits commonly last?

This depends on the severity of the accident and the number of parties involved. Your personal injury lawyer can give you a better timeline depending on if settlement or trial is most favorable.

How much do you charge for your services?

We work on a contingency basis, so you will only pay legal fees if you win your case. A fee is contingent when it is conditioned upon your attorney's successful resolution of case.

FREE Case Evaluation

Due to our size, each client's case uniquely receives personalized attention and planning. Please describe your case below and we’ll follow up with you shortly to discuss your case in more detail…
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Marisa Zarzeski, P.A. - Tampa Personal Injury Attorney
Contact Marisa
Ph: 813-230-2166
Fax: 813-977-4813
P.O. Box 82592
Tampa, FL 33682
Serving
Hillsborough County
Pinellas County
Pasco County
Polk County